Nevada Still Cracking Down on Impaired Driving After Labor Day Weekend

Written by: The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata

Nevada’s “Joining Forces” Campaign Seeks to Target Impaired Drivers

Last week the Nevada Highway Patrol and local law enforcement announced a concerted effort to keep impaired drivers off the road for Labor Day Weekend. The “Joining Forces” campaign went into effect on September 3 and will last through Sunday, September 13, according to KTNV Las Vegas

In 2019, the Nevada Highway Patrol Southern Command received a $136k grant from the Nevada Department of Public Safety for their Joining Forces traffic safety campaign to be used through September 30, 2020. Through the Joining Forces campaign, multiple agencies are able to combine resources putting more units on the streets. Motorists are under greater scrutiny during the holiday weekend as law enforcement agencies increase patrols and target impaired drivers.

The Nevada Highway Patrol is reminding people that impaired driving is not limited to alcohol. According to reporting by KTNV, impaired driving can involve “anything that affects a person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.”

Penalties for Impaired Driving in Nevada

Under NRS 484C.400, if you are convicted for a first offense driving under the influence (DUI) in Nevada, you may face up to six (6) months in jail or be required to perform 96 hours of community service. In addition, you may be required to pay a fine of $400 to $1,000 and attend an alcohol program.

The penalties increase for each subsequent offense within seven (7) years. Depending on the circumstances, you could also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device and face a mandatory suspension of your driving privileges through the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.

Fighting DUI Charges

If you are arrested for impaired driving, you need to act fast to preserve your rights and protect your driving privileges. Even a first offense conviction can have devastating consequences. Nevada is one of the strictest states in the country when it comes to driving under the influence. 

Pursuant to Nevada law, a prosecutor may not reduce or dismiss a DUI charge unless “the charge is not supported by probable cause or cannot be proved at the time of trial.” In order to get the best possible outcome in your case, it is imperative that you contact an experienced attorney immediately after your arrest. 

Arrested for DUI? Contact The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata!

For over 15 years, the attorneys at The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata have been helping people arrested for DUI. Attorney Ogata has personally handled over 4k driving under the influence cases and 1600 DMV hearings. He is a respected member of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, National College of DUI Defense, and the American Trial Lawyers Association and has been recognized as one of the leading defense attorneys in Las Vegas.

If you plan to drink this week, it is always recommended to have a designated driver, take public transportation, or use a rideshare app such as Uber or Lyft. If you are arrested for a DUI, contact The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata or fill out our DUI Questionnaire to be contacted directly by an attorney.

Share This Story

Interested in this topic? Your friends might be too! Consider sharing this story to your social media channels by clicking on one of the icons below.

Your Best Option Forward

In legal matters, timing is everything. When it comes to your defense don't wait until later. To get started now, contact our firm through one of the methods below and request a free consultation. 

I Want To...
uploadmagnifiercrossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram